Monday, November 12, 2012

Decanates (or "Decans") - 1/3 of each sign

The 30 degrees allotted for each zodiac house can be divided into three groups of ten degrees each as 0 to 9 degrees, 10 to 19 degrees and 20 to 29 degrees. These divisions are termed as Decanates. The first ten degrees are called as the First Decanate, the second ten as the second Decanate and the third ten degrees are the Third Decanate. (Another way of seeing a decanate would be "which day in 30 is this?" Example: April 1 would be @11-12 days = 2nd decanate).

The first decanate of any sign corresponds to to the sign being studied: for example, the first decanate of Aries will relate to Aries. The second decanate of any sign takes on the characteristics of the next sign in the same element, and hence, the second decanate for Aries is Leo. The third decanate of any sign is the last sequential sign within the same element and so for Aries it would be Sagittarius. Just follow the pattern below for your sign and its decanates.

Each decanate in a sign gets the traits or qualities of the sign ruling it. The first decanate is the strongest, and it corresponds to the double strength of the sign. A person born during the second and third decanate will be less typical of the sign under consideration.

The decanates are said to have psychological and physical significances and are related to the mind, body and soul.

0 to 9 degrees - This decan corresponds to the physical side and relates to the body.  When a person has many planets in these degrees, they would be practical, materialistic, and sensible. These degrees are very powerful. The 0 degree represents the beginnings and the 9th degree represents the endings and the physical aspects.

10 to 19 degrees - This decanate corresponds to the mental or the Mind side. Those with more planets in this decanate are said to be intelligent and concentrate more on mind activities. They are logical thinkers and are well-informed about the latest trends. Degree 10 represents new pursuits and degree 19 represents the peak of mental activity.

20 to 29 degrees - This decanate corresponds to the spiritual aspects of a person.  When many planets or in this decanate, the native would be spiritually inclined. Some might have problems like addiction and self-destruction.  Degree 29 relates to the spiritual peak or an acute nature: the 29th degree is often referred to as an intense representation of the sign's action and energy.

Aries                            Aries-Leo-Sagittarius
Taurus                         Taurus-Virgo-Capricorn
Gemini                         Gemini-Libra-Aquarius
Cancer                         Cancer-Scorpio-Pisces

Leo                               Leo-Sagittarius-Aries
Virgo                            Virgo-Capricorn-Taurus
Libra                             Libra-Aquarius-Gemini
Scorpio                         Scorpio-Pisces-Cancer

Sagittarius                  Sagittarius-Aries-Leo
Capricorn                    Capricorn-Taurus-Virgo
Aquarius                     Aquarius-Gemini-Libra
Pisces                          Pisces-Cancer-Scorpio

No comments: